Pregnancy Diet

Standard

I just don’t feel like eating. I’ve lost six pounds so far and I’m not quite 15 weeks into this pregnancy. I know the bad eating habits will catch up with me soon enough, and I keep telling myself that as soon as I start to feel better I’ll eat better.

The problem is, I am feeling better. But I still have little to no desire to eat. Unless the food miraculously appears in front of me with no effort on my part about deciding on, or making the food.

Plus, now that I’m working from home, I can’t justify getting into my car and driving 5-10 miles to spend money on food when I have perfectly good, albeit unprepared, food in my house.

Thank God for my husband otherwise every day probably would consist of the following:

8:30 a.m. — Bowl of generic Cap’n Crunch with Crunch Berries cereal, which I never buy, nor eat, but bought for a family camping trip as a treat.

12:05 p.m.  — A snack size 100 Grand bar followed by a snack size Kit Kat bar.

1:00 p.m. — About 26 tater tots. I finished the bag. Needless to say, I did not feel well after downing almost half the bag of fried potato rolls. It’s weird though, I’ve kind of been craving tater tots lately.

My mom suggested that I keep healthy snacks on hand as to avoid eating too many fried potatoes. I assured her I had plenty of fruit, and yogurt, readily accessible, but that neither seemed appealing.

5:30 p.m. — A McDonald’s Mighty Meal. Did you know the burgers in those meals come with two patties?? Why in God’s name does a child need two patties? I thought I was doing myself a favor by not ordering the quarter pounder, but apparently not.

I gave one patty to my husband. Oh, and I got a 49-cent cone which I had to eat first. Obviously.

Nothing like a well-rounded day of meals.

 I’m glad Monkey isn’t old enough to know the difference. Yet. Maybe tomorrow I’ll crave something healthy and actually make it. I’m not holding my breath.

About Jen

On the Night You Were Born is my attempt to chronicle my joys and frustrations of parenthood. I’m fairly new to the mommy blogosphere, and I read some brilliantly-funny mom blogs, so I hope to be half as witty, insightful, and I won’t say inspiring. The only thing I hope to inspire is for my 4k kid to cut the sass and my 2.5-year-old to stop being disruptive at bedtime. Alas, they both come with time.

5 responses »

  1. Just so you know, protein is better for you than the carbohydrates!!!!! Two patties are better than 2 sandwiches. 🙂 Take care. Jodie

  2. I craved tater tots during my third pregnancy…and for almost a year after it. They’re just so salty and crunchy and delicious and I’m really contemplating whether or not it’s worth doing downstairs to make some right now. MMMMM…tater tots.

    • @ck, I remember reading your past blog posts about tater tots! I think they were in my subconscious and that’s why I was craving them! I LOVE your blog. Thanks for reading. 🙂

  3. I’m feeling you today, and I’m 34 weeks pregnant! I just don’t feel like making any food for lunch and when I asked Trevor if he’d make something for me, he told me there was salad in the fridge. (I can’t complain about him doing this because he does make my dinner every single night. I don’t blame the guy for wanting some time off from playing chef!) Instead, I ate a banana and some M&Ms. I’m sitting here hungry, but am not eating because I don’t want to make anything!.

    • Aud, you’re so close!! If you can convince Trev, ask him to start making some meals you can freeze for when the baby comes, b/c believe me, you REALLY won’t feel like cooking then!

Leave a Reply

