Letter to Bean

Standard

Dear Bean,

I am so elated to come to this point in my pregnancy with you. With only about four weeks to go, I’m almost in disbelief at how fast this time has gone. It’s only when I think back to the very beginning and realize that I’ve been pregnant since MAY, does it seem like a long time. And I’m in no hurry to rush you out. Considering that in the beginning we weren’t even sure if I was going to make it through 13 weeks of pregnancy, and after that, that there was an increased possibility that you would be born prematurely, you have no idea how RELIEVED I am to make it this far. And I won’t even mind if it takes you 41 weeks. Thanks for hanging in there with us, Bean. And thanks to God for answering all of our prayers.

There are definitely some differences in my pregnancy with you compared to Monkey. For starters, I am carrying you so looow. Which is surprising, because usually women who are pregnant with boys are said to look like they swallowed a basketball. In the name of everything pink, I am sure hoping those ultrasounds were accurate! And I didn’t think it was possible for a baby to move in utero more than your sister did — but you do. Every day I look down at my belly expecting to see an arm or foot sticking out. You must seriously be running out of room in there. Which makes me wonder if you’re going to be a big baby. Monkey was such a lanky little peanut at only 7 pounds. Your activity level also makes me wonder how your personality will compare to Monkey’s. Will you be super active, highly emotional and outgoing like Monkey and me, or will you be more laid back like your dad. Either way is fine with us. But, I’m not going to lie; I’m hoping that you’re going to LOVE sleeping and that we won’t have to work as hard as we did with Monkey to get you to be a good sleeper.

One thing that’s not different is the hiccups. I can feel your frequent bouts of hiccups, just like I could with Monkey.

Your dad and I can’t wait to see what you look like. We were both shocked when Monkey was born and had strawberry blonde hair — we were expecting dark brown. So we’re so excited to see what color hair you’ll have, if you’ll also share your dad’s lovely blue eyes, and how much you’ll look like Monkey. It’s like the best, most miraculous science experiment. 😉

Monkey is going to be such a good big sister. She is going to love you up. We’ve been talking to her about you for months. She knows where your clothes are, she knows the bottles are for you, and she knows where you’re going to sleep in our room. She liked to use the Doppler when would listen to your heartbeat, and she kisses my belly all the time. She’s enthralled with real life babies and can’t stop touching them. At home she carries her baby dolls around, kissing them and asking me to wrap them in blankets. I think she’s going to be a great helper. You two are going to be best friends.

I imagine seeing you for the first time, marveling at your tiny hands and toes, and holding your tiny little body. In fact, that’s one of the things your dad said he’s looking forward to — those precious days and weeks right after you’re born when you snuggle in with us and fall asleep while we’re holding you.

I look ahead and I think about reading you stories, singing you songs, taking you on trips to the zoo. Your dad and I are looking forward to more family hugs, family dance parties and creating our own little family rituals and traditions. It’s going to be such an adventure with you and your sister.

Last night I saw a picture of Monkey from a year ago at Christmas. She was still a baby – and now she’s so not! Now she’s an independent, walking, running, talking, sentence-stringing GIRL. And then your dad broke my heart when he said that before I know it you girls will be in grade school and then off to college, and then he’ll be walking you down the aisle. I don’t want it to go that fast! You’re not even here yet!

Bean, we’re all ready for you and we can’t wait to meet you. We will love you and cherish each and every one of those milestones; but I’ll also relish the simple moments every day.

About Jen

On the Night You Were Born is my attempt to chronicle my joys and frustrations of parenthood. I’m fairly new to the mommy blogosphere, and I read some brilliantly-funny mom blogs, so I hope to be half as witty, insightful, and I won’t say inspiring. The only thing I hope to inspire is for my 4k kid to cut the sass and my 2.5-year-old to stop being disruptive at bedtime. Alas, they both come with time.

4 responses »

  1. I’m SO excited I can’t stand it :o) This is the sweetest letter

    George and I will be back in a couple of weeks – can’t wait to see you all again!

Leave a Reply

