The Top 10 Reasons I Know My Husband is a Great Dad

Standard

I believe the quote was, "I'm as sure-footed as a mountain goat."

  1. He insists on doing things like the above.
  2. He changes the sheets when the kids pee or puke in their beds.
  3. He gets offended when Katy Perry’s Teenage Dream comes on the radio (he says he thinks about our girls doing those things when they’re teenagers).
  4. He saves the kids’ messages on his phone because he says it takes him to his “happy place.”
  5. While typically introverted, he surprises us sometimes by doing things like acting out the animals in children’s books because he thinks our reaction is hysterical.
  6. The kids ask where he is every morning (even though they know he’s already at work), and squeal and cheer when I say he’ll be home.
  7. He carries the feminine black, white and red diaper bag backpack (I asked his opinion before I bought it, and didn’t get anything pink even though he said he didn’t care).
  8. When Bean was going through a frequent night-waking phase, he devised a way to get her to lie down and go back to sleep that didn’t involve picking her up OR crying (WHOO HOO!)
  9. He doesn’t mind going into the men’s restroom to change diapers, and actually gets kind of offended when his bathroom doesn’t have a diaper changing station.
  10. When the kids were babies, we used to fight over who got to hold them.

Happy Father’s Day to all you fabulous dads! We couldn’t do it without you!

What makes your partner a great dad?

About Jen

On the Night You Were Born is my attempt to chronicle my joys and frustrations of parenthood. I’m fairly new to the mommy blogosphere, and I read some brilliantly-funny mom blogs, so I hope to be half as witty, insightful, and I won’t say inspiring. The only thing I hope to inspire is for my 4k kid to cut the sass and my 2.5-year-old to stop being disruptive at bedtime. Alas, they both come with time.

3 responses »

  1. this is so great!!!!!
    we are some lucky ladies to have such great men that happen to be awesome dads to our silly little girls 😉

  2. Hahaha, I love the quote under the picture! Husband quotes relating to their kids are honestly one of my favorite things!
    (At first I thought I read Bean was going through a night-WALKING phase. I was amazed that she figured out how to get out of the crib, and MORE amazed that Dad figured out a way to get her back to bed! haha)

Leave a Reply

