WHOO POO!

Standard

OMG, OMG, OMG, OMG.

GUESS WHAT!??

Kohl’s Department Store has the book “On the Night You Were Born” by Nancy Tillman on sale for $5 as part of their Kohl’s Cares for Kids program!!!!

Can you believe it!?? The book normally retails for $11!

WHOO POO!!!

This is my absolute favorite children’s book in case you haven’t read the “About” section or gathered from the name of my blog. For me, the story so accurately captures the uniqueness and wonderment of each child, and how each child is so individually special and changes your life so profoundly. According to Nancy’s web site, she created “On the Night You Were Born” to convey to children at an early and impressionable age, “You are the one and only ever you.”

Not to mention her illustrations are sublime.

I could recite the book to you because I know it by heart.

The opening page reads:

“On the night you were born, the moon smiled with such wonder that the stars peeked in to see you and the night wind whispered, “Life will never be the same.” Because there had never been anyone like you … ever in the world.

Love. ♥

Kohl’s also is selling “It’s Time to Sleep My Love” which I have and is another lovely bedtime book, as well as two new titles that I’m not familiar with — “Wherever You Are: My Love Will Find You,” and “The Spirit of Christmas.”

OTNYWB is one of my favorite baby shower gifts — actually it’s one of my favorite gifts for kids in general. I’ve even given copies to kids who are 5 and 6 years old. Needless to say, I bought three copies of it and one of each of the new ones (for us!)

I seriously almost crapped my pants when I walked into the store and saw that they were selling these books. I’m planning to go back and get more. They’re also selling plush animals that accompany the books.

Since there’s a Christmas title my guess is that this is the line of books that Kohl’s will sell through the holiday season, but I guarantee you they will not still be in stock at Christmastime. As I was checking out and gushing to the cashier about how much I loved the books she remarked that everyone had been buzzing about them. She also probably thought I was psycho for taking pictures of a book display with my camera phone.

If you want one of these books for only $5, you must go now. They’ll be gone by Christmas.

RUN. GET AS MANY AS YOU CAN. They make fantastic gifts. Just don’t give any to the kids I’m giving them to, okay?

WHOO POO!!!

Oh. right. About “Whoo Poo.”

Well, let me just tell you. Last May I was online shopping for a gift that my cousin, a friend and I were buying together:

From: Jennifer Novotny
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2010 1:55 PM
To: A
Cc: S
Subject: RE: order babybeat from babybeat

The total was $23.75 each. I found a 5% off online coupon (WHOOPOO, don’t give too much away!), and there wasn’t any tax or shipping.

Thank you both for doing this with me!

 

From: A
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2010 3:37 PM
To: Jennifer Novotny
Subject: RE: order babybeat from babybeat

check’s [almost] in the mail 🙂

 

From: Jennifer Novotny
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2010 3:49 PM
To: A
Subject: RE: order babybeat from babybeat

I just re-read my email and I have no idea what “WHOOPOO” means. OMG, I am laughing so hard right now … tears … I meant “whoopee.” OMG. I’m dying.

WHOO-POO!

 

From: A
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2010 4:44 PM
To: Jennifer Novotny
Subject: RE: order babybeat from babybeat

lol – I was wondering what whoopoo meant. I thought it was just me not getting it as usual 🙂

 

From: Jennifer Novotny
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2010 9:02 PM
To: A
Subject: RE: order babybeat from babybeat

I am still cracking up about the “WHOOPOO” line. I don’t know why, but I think it’s so hysterical that I wrote that!

It’s like a combination of “WHOOPEE” and “WHOOHOO.” I made up a new word!

*********

So there you have it. When something it’s awesome, it’s not “WHOOPEE” OR “WHOOHOO,” it’s “WHOO POO!”

GO GET THE BOOKS!

WHOO POO!

2 responses »

  1. Ha! I love that you not only included WHOO POO! in your post, but the origin of WHOO POO! as well!

    And I might have to stop at Kohl’s…..

  2. Pingback: One More Time, With Feeling « On the Night You Were Born

Leave a Reply

